DECCAN CANTEEN :- TASTE OF SOUTH INDIA

Deccan Canteen is a fine dine-in restaurant located in the prime area of Hyderabad which offers exclusively south Indian food which is quite different in servings. This is a nice place to chill with your friends or to spend some valuable time with your family. The moment I entered this place, I got that super classy feeling by looking at those comfy sofas & pretty tables. This is really a huge space which can accommodate up to 100 people at a time.
​​SMLXL

.
From the last month, this place has been talk of the Town & heard some good reviews about this place on social media & also from my friends . So, I decided to visit this place and try as many dishes as I can😜. I went there for lunch. To be honest, I expected it’d filled with crowd. But, to my surprise the restaurant is empty πŸ˜… & then people started coming one by one making this place look colorful.
.
I usually start my lunches with mocktails, but this time I started with their south Indian soups which are DHANIYA SHORBA & vellulli Kodi charu. In which, I mostly liked the DHANIYA SHORBA because of the direct hit of coriander flavor to my mouth , where as in vellulli Kodi charu it was warm & soothing is all I can say.
​​SMLXL

​​SMLXL

.
So, after soups … We obviously started having starters . We were given a lot of starters, it took so much time for all of us to finish themπŸ˜‚. There are few vegetarians in our group, so we had to order some vegetarian dishes for them & we chose MOKKA Jonna kebab which is normally known as corn kebab, the kebab is made by mixing corn with maida & some grounded Indian spices & lentils in it which are quite chewy & subtle in spicyness. I had papdi Chaat after so long , I still can’t get enough of this amazing dish prepared by the folks of Deccan Canteen. I mean seriously, there is some magic in their hands. They made it so delicious that I didn’t had this kinda Chaat in my life in any restaurant.
​​SMLXL

​​SMLXL

So, after having 2 veg starters we moved on to non-veg vegetarian section. We had a look at the menu & there were lot of sections in starters naming tandoor, kebabs, fried items & some other thingπŸ˜…. We asked waiters to suggest us some best dishes on their menu & they brought us Mutton ghee roast which texture was so hard ,but it really tasted delicious. Fish KOLIWADA is similar to fish fingers, but the preparation of it is quite different from other versions of fish. We also had fish Tikka which was so so so so so so so sooooooooo good in taste which was sooooooooo soft and it melted in my mouth in no time. Raju gari Kodi ROYYALU is something you can’t miss at this place. The moment you see this starter, I bet you are gonna fall in love with this dish because of it’s golden color which was so appealing & that doesn’t make you wait to try it.
​​SMLXL

​​SMLXL

​​SMLXL

​​SMLXL

​​SMLXL

Cut Mirchi wasn’t that spicy , but if want it to be spicy you can ask them to make it according to your taste & preferences. They also have some amazing breakfast combos. In which, I tried one combo which is Masala dosa with Telangana chicken curry. Usually, I love dosas more than anything in south indian breakfast & chicken curry in lunch. So, if you give a person’s most loved items in one dish , you know he is going to heaven after tasting those items 😜
​​SMLXL

​​SMLXL

​​SMLXL

.
Enough of starters, Now i’m gonna take you into their main course section in which we had a bunch of Indian breads like garlic naan, butter naan, tandoori roti & kulcha. I totally loved the flavors in Gobi mutter & guntur chicken curry. Especially, in the guntur chicken curry I got that spicy hint of guntur chilly in it. So, this makes my favorite curry in their whole main course section.
​​SMLXL

​​SMLXL

.
You know what?? Coming to a south Indian restaurant & not having rice items is a sin😝😝 . Andhra veg pulao is really great with it’s flavors & subtle spicyness. Coz, that is what makes a pulao perfectly delicious.
​​SMLXL

.
What’s next??
.
Yes, you’re right. It’s desserts time nowπŸ˜‰. I had a lot of expectations for their desserts, coz I taught they’d be offering us some south Indian desserts/ sweets , but most of them are North Indian ones except junnu. Starting off with gulab jamun, it was so sweet … I mean the sweetness in it is more than required. They really have to work on it. Jalebi with rabri was fantastic in taste. But, I thought if rabri is some what more thicker it would have been perfect. Junnu was so soft & it’s jiggling while I was try to cut itπŸ˜‚. But, it tasted fantasticslly good. I tried apricot delight in many places & most of those places served it in a correct way. But, here I was shocked & Disappointed by looking at this dessert in this place. Because, it mostly looks like a pineapple pastry & it was awful.
​​SMLXL

​​SMLXL

​​SMLXL

​​SMLXL

.
So, Now you know where to head if you’re are craving for delicious south Indian food.
.
Thank you, Deccan Canteen
.
Regards, Hyderabadfoodbowl

Leave a comment